Classified Readers: Quotation Inspiration

Published Sunday, May 30, 2010

(Editor’s note: Contact details and cell phone numbers have been removed from this post)

Classified readers share quotes that keep them inspired while working

Once again, you Classified readers have risen to the challenge and shared amazing ideas with us and with your fellow readers. What you’ve created is a chain of inspiration: if something moves you to do better in your job and it’s published here, another reader can be moved by it, or the idea can make their workday a little better. We’ve edited for conciseness and added translations when necessary, but have otherwise left your comments intact.

Enjoying Your Work

Oscar Wilde says, “The best way to appreciate your job is to imagine yourself without one.” I know that there is a recession, and that there are many difficulties in finding a job. Conversely I am also aware that there are less than ideal work conditions. But every time my thinking turns negative I look at the positive: I am employed. So I get back on track, and I know that if I do well in my job right now, it’s like an investment in the future jobs that I will have. (Marie Oserense, 28, via email)

“Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success. If you love what you are doing, you will be successful.” This quote came from Hermain Cain. This quote inspires me to do my best in everyday work, no matter how small or big it is, as long as the task (I do) will benefit the whole workplace and that makes me fulfilled and happy. Thank you. (Maria Valen Casauay, 22, Tuguegarao City)

My favorite quote that inspires me at work is that of Gen. Colin Powell, “If you want to achieve excellence in big things, the little things matter.  Excellence is not an exception, it is a prevailing attitude.”  It encourages you to aim for excellence in everything you do, big or small. (Gener C. Mangulabnan, Las Pinas)

I love the humorous approach to staying down to earth that American humorist Robert Orben exhibits in the quote, “Every day I get up and look through the Forbes list of the richest people in America.  If I’m not there, I go to work.” Don’t rest on your laurels. Don’t take things for granted. There’s always more to aim for, so keep going! (Emil Foreza, 25, via SMS)

Jawaharlal Nehru said, “Success often comes to those who dare and act. It seldom goes to the timid who are ever afraid of the consequences. (TNT Arguelles)

Sharing Talents with Others

“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others…” In this quote, I believe that God has given each one (of) us different talents and skills to help other people. It inspires me to work because I become more goal-oriented, and in this world is a network of people, endowed with unique abilities, to act as servants to others. (Jon Antoni Mendoza, 20, Cavite)

Maintaining a Positive Attitude

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” From Paulo Coelho, Brazil’s famous novelist and author of The Alchemist. This quote is from the same book. This quote always inspires me to do better at work because it reminds me that no matter how hard the work is or how (many) insurmountable problems you encounter, you will still be able to accomplish it because all the elements will concur to make it happen. Good things happen when you least expect it. So it is important to have faith in our future at work. So whether you are waiting for a promotion, a boss’s acknowledgment of your accomplishments or waiting for a raise, it’s important to continue doing the right thing and never let yourself feel down. This quote always makes me think positively and look forward to a better day. (Marizen Villamora, 29, Sampaloc, Manila)

Daniel Razon says, “Walang gawang mabuti na nagbubunga ng masama (No good deed bears evil as its fruit).” It inspires me to work well, work on time, and have a good relationship with my co-workers. Not only (will I) benefit but also the whole company. (Marvin Francisco, 31)

Winona Ryder says, “I feel my best when I’m happy.” It helps me keep myself on track, and (I) only think  the positive side of my work and of my everyday life as well. If I’m at my best, I can do my work efficiently! )Lee Pichay, San Juan City)

“Bawal ang nakasimangot (Frowning is forbidden)!” Because if you’re always nakasimangot (frowning), sooner or later you’ll have enemies and worse of all you will lose all your customers! (Anonymous via SMS)

“Don’t watch the clock; just do what it does: keep going!” It inspires me to make good use of my time. (Florence Lo, 26, Nueva Ecija, via SMS)

“Our aspirations are our possibilities.” I keep believing that I will soon become the administrator of a school, so I continue to educate myself, dress like an administrator, and equip myself with all the tools for becoming an administrator. (Diana Chan, 48, QC via SMS)

Going the Extra Mile

Marketing guru Michael Cage: “Find a need and fill it. Forget find a need and fill it. Find a want, touch your market … and lead a movement.” He adds that it’s not just about selling or filling a need. We develop relationships with those we sell things to or serve. The sale is not the end of a transaction, it is the beginning of a relationship. We don’t live in isolation, and our customers are people, not numbers or faceless sources of cash. That’s what I’ve learned and which guides me to this day! (D. G. Garcia, 32, Mandaluyong City, via SMS)

The quote that keeps me inspired while working is, “Give ‘em the Pickle!” ‘Pickles’ are special or extra things you do to make people happy.  It’s a handwritten thank-you note with every order shipped.  It’s walking the customer to the item they are looking for rather than pointing. Or maybe it’s simply calling them by name.  The trick is figuring out what your customers want and then making sure they get what they want.

Taking care of customers involves four values:

1)      Service – make serving others (your number one) priority. You’re in a noble profession.  Be proud of what you do and where you work.

2)      Attitude – Choose your attitude.  How you think about customers is how you will treat them.

3)      Consistency – Customers return because they like what happened last time.  Stick to your high service standards.

4)      Teamwork – Make each other look good.  Everything you do ends up in front of the customers.

I learned this quote during my training in Vienna, Austria in August 2004, when my office, the Public Affairs Office of the American  Embassy sent me there.  I’ve been working with the American Embassy for 16 years now.  I’ve worked with the US Refugee Program for 4 years. Throughout my career, I have demonstrated for my employers an exceptional ability for meeting organizational objectives and demands.  Since I learned this quote in 2004, I became more service and customer oriented.  This has become my principle, my guide and motto on my work: “Give ‘em the Pickle.”

When I came back from my training, I shared my learnings with my colleagues, and encouraged them to also use this principle.  According to research, great companies and successful employees carry out this principle.  These are the values I follow not only at work but on my personal life as well. (Lia Ocampo, Adriatico, Manila)

Sir Winston Churchill says, “It’s not enough we do our best; sometimes we have to do what’s required.” It inspires me not to put limitations on myself and makes me believe I can do anything, especially with God’s help. (Norie Forgalidad, 22, Valenzuela)

“There is someone much better than everyone.” Whenever (things get) to me and I feel that I’m burned out and can’t do the job pretty well, I think of this quote and it (makes me realize that) the person beside me is much better than me so I must do better. (Joseph John V. de Jesus, 22, Manila, via SMS)

If you’re reading this article and would like to respond or share more inspiration, feel free to SMS or email us at mbclassifiedwed AT gmail DOT com (remove spaces and replace AT with @ and DOT with “.”

Our next topic, for June, is, “How will you handle an angry customer?” Share your tips, your experiences, and the wisdom you’ve gained; the best will be published in the Classifieds on Sunday, July 3, 2010!

(All rights reserved. Copyright Manila Bulletin 2010. May not be reproduced or copied without express written permission of copyright holders.)

Posted on May 30, 2010, in Classifieds Readers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

