Biz Maker: The Tale Of Two Salespersons, Part One

(Originally published on May 23, 2010)

By MARK SO

(Part 1)

Here’s another insightful and true story from my wonderful life, especially in the field of salespersonship. I call this story ‘The Tale of Two Salespersons’ because there are generally two kinds of salespersons in this world: the one you think is the true salesperson, and the one that you think will never be able to sell water to a thirsty man.

Sales or learning how to sell is important in whatever you do. As I always say in my seminars, “Sales is not a position, it is a way of life,” and so I hope this article will teach you what it takes to be a salesperson. Realize who between the two kinds of salespersons you identify with, who will outsell the other, and what you should do about it now.

Let me start by painting a picture of the first salesperson. Tell me if you can relate, if he or she is someone you have already met; in fact, this person was probably the one who sold you that kitchen gadget that you have never used in your life. You bought it just because the person was so convincing, or so persistent (may have even been a bit annoying) that even if you were allergic to apples, you bought the “handy, dandy apple slicer” anyway. That kind of “talent” is apparent among many superstar salesmen, and it’s called persuasiveness.

Have you met that kind of person before? I’m sure you have.

So I’m going to just call those kinds of salespeople “Yangs.” Yangs are very confident people. Some are obnoxious but most are charming, funny, generous, extroverted, persistent, and above all, persuasive. Yangs are people who can sell ice to Eskimos. Give them a product, a reason, and a prospective buyer, and see the magic called selling happen right in front of your eyes. And if they don’t get to sell it the first time, rest assured they will not stop until they do, even if it’s to the 100,000th buyer who comes along.

Can you picture the first salesperson in your mind now? Good, now let me describe the second type of salesperson. This type of person is someone you have also encountered in your life. In fact this might even apply to you, so tell me if you can relate.

This second salesperson is absolutely scared of selling. They do not like it, do not possess the indestructible confidence that “Yangs” do, and they seem to not have the “X” factor to be successful in sales. They would rather have a job in accounting, engineering, research and development, etc. as long as they don’t need to interact with customers or even try to convince anyone to buy anything. On the surface, they seem very soft and vulnerable, quiet, not noticeable, even a bit introverted most of the time. They are the exact opposite of “Yangs,” which is why I will call the second salesperson a “Yin.” If you are familiar with the symbol of Yin and Yang, these two types of salespersons are the exact opposites of each other, night versus day, extroverted versus introverted, the ultimate salesperson versus the ultimate anti-salesperson. Can you picture it?

Good. Now tell me which of the two kinds of salesmen will outsell the other in the long run? Please post a comment stating “Yang” or “Yin” on my blog at http://www.markso.wordpress.com and see for yourself what the public thinks.

I am quite sure that at this point you have your favorites and I really do look forward to seeing your comments and thoughts. So go ahead and go to my blog now and look for the article “Tale of Two Salespersons (Part 1).”

You see, my dear readers, I am, as you may have guessed a “Yang.” I possess all of the characteristics of a “Yang” salesperson (plus the fact that I’m incredibly handsome ha ha ha) and I can literally find a way to sell ice to Eskimos. Selling, to me, is like breathing; I simply can’t live without it, I am deadly persuasive when I want to be, I can influence people with skills developed over decades of trial and error, and I don’t mind rejection (well not as much as I used to, that is) as I sell with purpose and with experience. In fact, in all the businesses that I have, I am always the number one salesperson in all of them.

But. And this is a big BUT. There are people in my organizations that outsell even me, the number one salesperson. Would you like to know who they are? Could they be even more developed Yangs, you think? Or God forbid, could they be Yins? Want to find out? Then stay tuned to the next article where I discuss this most intriguing revelation that not even the most successful salespeople in the world realize.

(All rights reserved. Copyright Manila Bulletin and Mark So. May not be reproduced or copied without express written permission of the copyright holders.)

Posted on May 23, 2010, in Biz Maker, Business Agenda Classifieds Columns and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

